The purpose of the Skilled Migration Visa Program is to attract highly employable people for migration to Australia. It is the most common form of migration to Australia.

Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189)

The Skilled Migration Independent Visa (Subclass 189) is a permanent residency visa for points-tested skilled workers who want to work and live in Australia. If you are highly skilled and have a field of occupation that is required in Australia, you may be invited to apply for a 189 visa by the Immigration Department.

Once you receive your letter of invitation, you can apply for this visa, whilst fulfilling the following skilled independent visa requirements.


  • Have a relevant occupation
  • Have a suitable skills assessment for the occupation
  • Meet the points test mark of 60 points
  • Be under 45 years if age at the time of invitation
  • Have competent English
  • Meet health and character requirements
Skilled Migration Visa Australia, Migration Specialists, Skilled Independent visa

Skilled Independent Visa (subclass 189) application process

If you are invited to apply for this visa, you will then have 60 days in which to lodge your online application. Your invitation letter will explain the lodgement process you should follow. You can be in or outside Australia when you lodge your application.

Invitations are based on claims made in your Expression of Interest at the time you are invited to apply. Your application must reflect the information provided in your Expression of Interest, and be supported by relevant evidence.

As you are working in a role on this list you don’t need sponsorship from a relative or state, and you can live in any part of the country.

Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190)

The 190 visa is a permanent residency visa for points-tested skilled workers who are nominated by a State or Territory Government agency. If your occupation is not on the list for a Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189) or you do not have enough points for a 189 visa, there is a broader skilled occupation list for the 190 visa and you can obtain extra points if you are eligible to be nominated by a State or Territory.

Skilled Regional (Provisional) Visa (Subclass 489)

The 489 visa allows a person to work and live in a specified regional area of Australia for up to four years. It is a temporary visa, which may allow you to apply for a permanent residency visa (Skilled Regional (Residence) visa (subclass 887)) if you satisfy particular criteria.

A person must be sponsored by an eligible family member living in a specified regional area, or be nominated by a State or Territory Government agency.

Skilled Regional (Residence) Visa (Subclass 887)

The 887 visa is a permanent residency visa for people who have certain provisional visas, including the Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489), and have lived for at least two years and worked for at least one year in a specified regional area of Australia

Contact us today to see if your eligible for a skilled migration visa